Ankole Diocese Headquarters

The diocesan headquarters are located at Ruharo 3 kilometers from Mbarara town on the Mbarara – Bushenyi highway.

  • Mission & Evangelism
  • Treasury & Finance
  • Planning & Development
  • Health Department
  • Education Department
  • Mothers Union
  • Fathers Union
Ankole Diocese

©All Rights Reserved

Ankole Diocese Ordination Ceremony

Ankole Diocese Ordination Ceremony

On Sunday 26th November, 2017 the Bishop of Ankole Diocese,  Rt.Rev. Dr. Fred Sheldon Mwesigwa ordained 5 deacons and 18 priests. The Ordination ceremony was witnessed by the Retired Bishop Elisha Kyamugambi and his wife, The Diocesan Chancellor Ambassador Francis Butagira and wife, The Deputy Vice Chancellor Kabagambe and wife, the Head of Laity Canon John Kaganzi, the Vice Chancellor Bishop Stuart University Prof Mauda Kamatenesi and her husband, Chairman Board of Finance Mr. Godfrey Kacuma, head teachers among others. On this function Rev.Canon John Museeta who preached said that they should do God’s work. They should be the salt and the light of the world (Mathew 5:13). The Bishop said that they should not fear because God knew them long time ago and he will put his words into their mouths to do his work. (Jeremiah 1:1-5)

Deacons who turned into priest include

  1. Apollo Abareeba
    Ankole Diocese Ordination Ceremony

    Ankole Diocese Ordination Ceremony

  2. Aharimpisya W.George
  3. Arinaitwe Isreal
  4. Katsigaire Justus Robert
  5. Kyakorwa Eliasaph
  6. Kyarikunda Medius Kwariija
  7. Munyaneza Emmanuel
  8. Namara Julius
  9. Tumwine Moses
  10. Rugeijamu Emmanuel
  11. Tumuhimbise Julius
  12. Turingana Geoffrey
  13. Turyagyenda Joy Betty
  14. Twinomujuni Robert
  15. Twinomujuni Wallen
  16. Twinomujuni Kahangi Emmanuel
  17. Yorokamu Tuwangye
  18. Namara James

Those who became deacons include:

  1. Kente Rosemary
  2. Wilson Mugisha
  3. Kanguma Jocus
  4. Byatweena Leo
  5. Bagaine Apollo

The Bishop also sent them in different parishes to preach the Gospel. The Bishop also announced the clergy and other staff that were retiring these included Rev.Canon Godfrey Ngabirano-Diocesan Secretary, Mr.Mpairwe Patrick-Diocesan Health Coordinator, Mr-Kariira Wycliffe- Diocesan Cashier, Mr. Adoniah Mpumwire-Diocesan Head man,Rev. canon Stephen Karemire- Archdeacon Kikagate Archdeaconry among others. The Bishop also announced different reshuffle in the archdeacons and replacement of the retired ones among these include:

  • Edson Abaasa became the Diocesan Secretary
  • Balaam Mugisha became the Diocesan Health Coordinator
  • Capt Isingoma became the Diocesan Planning, Development and Investment Officer
  • Richard Mujuni became the Principal Uganda Bible Institute
  • Rev.Godfrey Bariyo became the new Archdeacon Mwizi archdeaconry
  • Canon Charles Ntambiirwe became the new Archdeacon Itojo archdeaconry
  • Canon Fred Karangwa became the Archdeacon Kikagate Archdeaconry
  • Among others



Musiimenta Starin

Diocesan Information Officer

Ankole Diocese



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WhatsApp chat